Author Interview: Sam Y Cats

 

 

Blog   Amazon Author Page   Smashwords

  • Sam Y Cats, was born Stacy Ann McCarty in Sugarhouse, Utah. 
  • She is Irish and British.
  • Sam loves scary stories.
  • She believes in true love, and the power of positive intention.
  • She is a Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) survivor with a message of hope for the world.
  • Sam has played the violin since she was nine years old. She has studied German since she was thirteen and somehow she picked up Spanish, some French and Japanese along the way.
  • She has performed on stage for acting, dance, orchestra, and singing.
  • She first appeared on TV at age six on PBS in a series about local YMCA programs.
  • She was featured on TV again, in a news report at age twelve about local Safety Patrol in schools (she was a crossing-guard).
  • Sam’s short story won her first place for the Granite School District’s, Reflections contest at age eleven.
  • She was the face of Flexx Hair Products at eighteen.
  • She sang backup on a Christian album at age nineteen. 

Sam is currently working on her book series, Woodsgate Chronicles and studying the crazy world of acting. Her dream is to be able to make films that can effectively help those struggling with mental illness and or self-esteem issues. 


1.    Why did you decide to write? 

I never actually decided to become a writer I just always was a writer. Before I could form words on paper I would draw pictures and tell my story to whoever would listen.

 2.    Do you consider it a hobby or something you intend to do for money, fame, and recognition in the craft? 

Most of my friends and family might categorize writing as a hobby but I certainly don’t. I am very lucky to have a very supporting family that supports my expenses so I can write until I have successfully launched my writing career. Fame is fleeting and only a quick ego boost and I hope to be able to be writing until my last day on earth.  

3.    What is your genre and why do you have a passion for it? 

Romantic suspense or Romance is my genre; however I don’t really like to be bogged down to one genre, I have sci-fi, fantasy, and non-fiction books on the horizon so I enjoy floating between all genres. Passion comes to me from the words that I can express to the reader, knowing that my very thoughts are penetrating your mind make for complete satisfaction for me. 

4.    What personal experience lead you in this direction (ie was it a high school or college professor who believed in you, etc); 

I think that it was probably my co-teachers a husband and wife team who entered my short story into the school district reflections contest in the 5th grade. I was shocked when they announced to me that they had entered me into the contest and at the same time they told me that I had won the contest and my story was being published at the end of the year in their magazine. 

5.    Who or what is your inspiration: is there a special author you admire and wish to emulate?

No author in particular but I do hope to inspire my children to use their minds and words to get them through life. Now that I think about it I guess authors like Maya Angelou are an inspiration to me. 

6.    Are you planning to publish your indie projects on different platforms or just Amazon…and why; 

Yes, and done. I have all of my works available on all platforms and formats because it is the best way to make sure that everyone can have access to my books. 

7.  Tell us about what inspires you to write (is it an early routine like Hemingway, an “as the mood strikes” like Faulkner etc; 

I have a desire for my voice and the voices of others like myself to be heard. I try to make as many characters in my books that are not always written about. 

8.   Do you work on multiple projects at one time or are you task oriented and go from project to project; 

I am a multi-tasker big time! I usually have a few projects cooking at once in addition to running a blog, painting, and raising children I plan on entered the acting field again soon and possible writing screenplays again. 

9.    A year from now, where do you want to be in your writing career, 5 years from now or even 10 years from now; 

One year from now I hope to be living off of my writing exclusively while acting. Five years from now hopefully I’m living, traveling and writing abroad while continuing to master the trade of acting. And finally ten years from now I hope to be watching some of my own movies adapted from my own books. 

10.    What separates you from the pack?   What inspires you to push ahead?

I have lived a lot of what I write about. For example, I am a (PTSD) post-traumatic stress disorder survivor, I can relate to so many other people’s situation because as I child I learned to study behavior to make sure I could tell if I was making others happy because if they’re not happy well then you know what happens then. The Sad fact about growing up in an abusive community but my past helps me now it makes me stronger today.  

11.    How do you handle writer’s block? 

I don’t get writer’s block I get the “I suck at writing” virus and well I just write through it just like a cold or flu it will soon pass and I’ll be back to normal, whatever that is. 

12.    What software do you use? What makes it better than worse than the competitions?  

I use Microsoft. It’s what I trained on in college. I have used Mac before but not regularly enough to compare the two. I don’t like Microsoft but for now, it will do. 

13.    Do you make your own covers or do you outsource them? 

Yes I make all my own covers, promos, and marketing materials I’m lucky to have an art background and I’ve worked in marketing and publishing since I was nineteen so I’m familiar with the craft.

 Sam has some really good deals for Christmas.  Check out her Blog also. 

Christmas Sale NOW Get (Books 1-3) Only $0.99 cent until 12/26/16

Dexter Vineyard Saga Boxset Collection regular price $2.99


If you’d like to be featured in an author interview and promote your projects fill out the form.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

